Economic territories

Châlons-en-Champagne and Metz

The Atelier National Territoires Economiques (national economic planning workshop) held in 2011 and 2012 represents the third session of an exploratory approach developed by the State concerning complex territories and themes. The chosen sites aim to present a panel of different types of situations able to provide food for thought and even inspire approaches that are either fully or partially usable across the country for retail outlets lying on the outskirts of towns.
The approach taken by the Atelier is unique as it consists in placing the State, local stakeholders and a multi-disciplinary project management team around a table to discuss with one another. The exchanges are based on site visits, an approach permitting a better understanding of the territories, and work sessions based on models, an approach encouraging a greater appreciation of the directions to be taken by the projects.
The aim is to increase the awareness that local elected representatives have of their territories in view of launching studies, neutralising preconceived ideas and proposing directions that might be taken to examine the issue of commercial planning.


4th national MEEDAT workshop to develop a city planning approach to projects, based on the theme of “economic zones”. 

Technical file

Client : ministry of Ecology, Energy, Sustainable Development and Planning (MEEDAT)
Project management : SEURA architectes (lead), Anyoni Beltrando (reference architects-town planners for two sites in the provinces), Eva Samuel (reference architects-town planners for two sites in the provinces), Territoires landscape designers, TN+ (landscape designers), Convergences CVL (commercial programming), Alphaville (urban programming), ETC Philippe Massé (travel movement engineers), Bruno Barroca (environmental expert), Damien Serre (natural risks expert)
Cost : studies : € 757 700 excl. VAT
Mission : prospective urban study taking the form of workshops run by MEEDAT, bringing together all local stakeholders and a multidisciplinary project management team over six economic zones in the provinces : Metz, Châlons-en-Champagne, Mulhouse, Lorient, Cahors and Lons-le-Saunier
Schedule : 2011 - 2012